Himeji Now

26 Aug

I have been in Himeji almost a whole day. It is very… overwhelming. I am definitely a bit homesick so far. For that reason I am going to keep this brief. Still don’t have my bearings straight.

So far today we spent a bit of time getting paperwork filled out; our registering for residence and a bank account and such. Later we might work on getting our cell phones. I should also get some groceries although I have no idea what I’ll end up getting/cooking.

Food has been kind of a weird thing. I really am not a big seafood guy, and I’ve not made that jump yet. But stuff like curry rice and tonkatsu and so on is very good. But I still get kind of sick after eating, which I attribute to stress.

Himeji is a very fascinating and beautiful city, I just don’t feel in place yet. And when you feel that way the time can drag on very slowly.

Man this is probably coming out more depressing than I wanted it to.

2 Responses to “Himeji Now”

  1. Chi-Hang Lau August 27, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Don’t sweat it, it’s always the hardest the first couple weeks. It’s usually best to have more of the mindset that you are a tourist and just enjoy everything new rather than dwell on adjusting. You have plenty of time to adjust~
    Though on the food front, yeah, you are probably going to have to rely on yourself if rice/noodles/fish/fried stuff isn’t your thing. It reminds of a friend of mine who made a point to blog about making tacos for the first time since moving to Tokyo.
    And look on the bright side, you already have internet to get recipes~
    BTW, did you find Sriracha over there in the supermarket?

  2. Maqqy96 August 27, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Hang in there, Heatman. You’re friends are here for you whenever you get homesick. If you feel comfortable, you should give your address out so people can send you care packages. I did that with my hubby when he was at Officer Training School for 3 months, and he loved all the little things (like the candy bars).

    *hugs* We’re all rooting for you, Heat!!

Leave a Reply

