Taiikusai Banzai!!!

21 Sep

Finally, at last, here it is. The footage I promised from the amazing Okishio Junior High School Taiikusai. As I said in my previous post, Taiikusai has a lot more preparation and organization than the typical Field Day. Hopefully these videos will give you a taste of that. I’m pretty pleased with how they came out, and my Galaxy SII camera seems to work a heck of a lot better than the iPhone 4 camera (though I have not tested it at night). Be sure to set the videos to HD and full screen!

Here is the opening march. Might not be too exciting, so to sum it up, the students march around the field by class. Each class has their own flag, which the students made themselves (when I’m not sure). This video cuts off when the march has ended. Afterwards, the principal speaks to the students, and then they observe the raising of the flags for Okishio, Himeji and Japan.

Here, each class jump ropes to see how high they can get. I think I got classes 1-1, 1-2 and 2-1 here. Believe it or not, three classes tied for second at 41, and class 3-2 ended up beating them all with 45.

And yes, every event has announcing, a small degree of commentating, and theme music.

Kind of an odd race. Two classes compete, with a group of people kicking two soccer balls amongst themselves to the other side of the field, and then another team returning them balanced on bamboo poles. I think only the first year students do this event.

This is one of my favorite events to watch. I just have to wonder how people even think of things like this.

Real quick, I’ll just mention that I’m making up the names for these events. I’m not sure what they’re all really called.

The good ol’ centipede race. I think I’ve seen this in America, though not at my school or anything. Maybe it was on TV. You can actually get pretty injured when one of these groups “breaks down”; during practice there were a couple rough accidents.

Here’s the real obstacle race. This occurred after the “jokey” obstacle race I participated with the PTA at. Listen to me make a bizarre noise when a couple students are caught in a false start.

We have the three-legged race in America, but this race gets groups of four and five as well! Well that’s probably in America also.

The boy covering his ears isn’t hurt or anything, he’s autistic and has that hang up. I’ll admit I do question the fact they had him participate, but it’s not my place to make a judgement in either.

The river crossing. Of course, there are no rivers running through Okishio JHS, so they use students instead. This is another event that I’m completely amazed to watch. They’d never allow anything like this at PE in America!

The club march. This took place after the break for lunch. This time the school band plays, and the students march around the field grouped up in the sports clubs they participate in. Once again, they come around and hear a speech from the principal.

I can’t help but think the girls in the swimming club probably weren’t especially cool with being filmed. But then there were tens of parents doing the same.

Incidentally, if you hear a squeaking noise in this video, or any others, it’s because there was an infant walking around in shoes that squeak. They make those here.

Yeah there’s tug-o-war and all, but here the ENTIRE SCHOOL does it. All of the roughly 180 students at once. I really couldn’t stand back far enough to get the whole thing on camera.

Finally, a redux of the centipede race. This time the groups go around half the track. The woman in red is Takeuchi-sensei, one of the English teachers I work with. Wish her class coulda got in first here!

Unfortunately, this is where my phone battery got too low, and refused to take any more footage (kind of an irritating feature, that). So, sadly I could not get any footage of the amazing Soran Bushi. Though I do have some footage during practices, which I took with my iPhone. I may see if I can still get those.

So that’s more or less it. I hope you enjoyed a look into Taiikusai! And I do apologize about my shaky camera work. It’s not a practice I’m studied in.

2 Responses to “Taiikusai Banzai!!!”

  1. Nz17 September 22, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    Thanks for sharing the videos. You may downplay your handiwork, but I thought the quality was good. Some of these videos’ events even made me laugh, so you’ve got something going right. 🙂

  2. Mark September 22, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    That river crossing thing was amazing somehow it was one of the most impressive and one of the funniest things iv seen at the same time

Leave a Reply

